My Book

Standard

I had an urge to work with my hands and so I decided to go with an actual physical representation of how I would like a book.

I also wanted something that would be fairly sturdy, but not too heavy.  I wanted it to be very colorful and eye catching with a texture not common to books.

I started off by taking two pieces of cardboard and punching holes toward the edge of them.  I then took various colors and sizes of ribbon and wrapped them around the front and back covers, weaving them in and out of each other.  I did this until they were completely covered with ribbon.  I then took a stack of paper and measured and cut it to match the size of my covers.  I punched holes in them and matched them up with the covers.  Then I completed my book by sewing them together to finish off the  spine.

This was a fun and interesting project to do and it makes me want to experiment with things like this more.

Leave a comment